ACWC Concert: Climate Change & Endangered Species

ACWC Toronto concert Oct27'17,v3-1

ACWC Concert on Climate Change & Endangered Species
Featuring the music of 12 ACWC composers.

Friday, October 27, 2017, 7:30 pm
Heliconian Club, 35 Hazelton, Toronto.
Tickets $25@door, or online at:
Join the Facebook event:


Call for Scores and Proposals: Caution Tape Sound Collective/ACWC

caution tapeCaution Tape Sound Collective, in collaboration with the Association of Canadian Women Composers (ACWC), is excited to announce a Call for Scores and Proposals for the upcoming 2017/18 season. All women-identified composers and sound artists in Canada are welcome to submit, as well as Canadians in the field who are currently living abroad. Selected composers will be required to join the ACWC if they are not already members.

A jury (comprised of Bekah Simms, Gayle Young, and Zosha di Castri) will select a total of six works to present at a concert on March 24, 2018 in Toronto, Ontario. All selected composers will receive a minimum $100 honorarium, as well as video and audio documentation of the performance to be used for non-commercial purposes. The instrumentation available for this concert will be violin, flute, cello, piano, and percussion. Expansive percussions set-ups featuring larger instruments may prove logistically challenging. Compositions involving electronics, or acousmatic works, are also welcome provided they do not exceed a stereo setup. A stereo PA, mixer, and audio interface will be available for the concert – any equipment beyond those items will be the responsibility of the composer. Works should be no longer than 15 minutes in duration, however, some exceptions might be made for exceptional pieces/proposals that exceed that length.

Those interested in submitting for the Call for Scores are required to submit ONE score (PDF), as well as their CV. Audio (MP3 or WAV) recordings are highly encouraged, though not required. Please do not submit MIDI realizations. Downloadable links are recommended for larger files.

Those interested in submitting for the Call for Proposals should send a 1-page (maximum) proposal for a new work utilizing the instruments mentioned above, or a subset thereof. They should also include up to two examples of their previous work – scores and, if possible, recordings – as well as their CV. Again – please do not send MIDI realizations. Downloadable links are recommended for larger files.

Composers may submit to both the call for scores as well as the call for proposals, but no candidate will be selected for both. Six composers will be chosen for the concert. The deadline for both calls is August 1, 2017, and successful applicants will be notified by September 18, 2017. All materials should be sent to

The pdf call for scores may be downloaded here.

ACWC Piano Collective Concert

ACWC Pno Coll poster v8

The premiere ACWC Piano Collective Concert, featuring music by ACWC Piano Collective members will occur on Sunday May 28 at 3:00 PM at Conrad Grebel Chapel, University of Waterloo, Ontario. Pieces are composed for and performed by student pianists, many of them students of ACWC members.  Music featured will be by Joanne Bender, Sarah J. Coles, Edith Covach, Emily Doolittle,  Hanna Kim, Kye Marshall, Colleen Muriel, Paulette Popp, Jana Skarecky, and Carol Ann Weaver.  The concert is free, and is generously supported by ACWC.

ACWC presents: A Spirit Indomitable


The ACWC is proud to be presenting a concert of the music of Canadian women, in a concert celebrating the anniversary of the passing of the bill granting B.C. women the right to vote.  The right to vote gave women a political voice, and we’re celebrating with women’s musical and creative voices with music dating as far back as 300 years as well as the present.

It features the Emily Carr String Quartet, the women’s choir Ensemble Laude and introduces soprano Elizabeth Gerow, with works by Dorothy Chang, Jocelyn Morlock, Sylvia Rickard, Carol Ann Weaver, Kim Baryluk, Georgina Craig, Eleanor Daley, Sarah Quartel, and the music of an anonymous Ursuline nun.

Elizabeth Gerow will be singing beautiful art songs by local composer Elinor Dunsmuir (1887-1938), much of which has been overlooked for the past century.  She was the granddaughter of Victoria’s coal baron, Robert Dunsmuir, and lived a colourful life.

The concert will be held on April 7th, 2017, at the First Church of Christ Scientist, Victoria, beginning at 7:30 p.m.  There will also be a pre-concert talk at 7:00 p.m. discussing the road to suffrage, and some more information on Elinor Dunsmuir.

Roberta Stephen Award Application

The Roberta Stephen Award Instructions

PDF Application
PDF Instructions

The Roberta Stephen Award, worth $500, offers support to a Canadian woman composer
aged 36 or older for professional development such as further studies, conferences, or
workshops, or composers’ festivals.

Deadline: January 30, 2017


Candidates must have a history of public presentation of their work, and must be:

  • Canadian citizens or permanent residents of Canada;
  • 36 years of age or older;
  • finished their basic training in music (university graduation or equivalent in specialized training) and either be ready to undertake a professional career, or, having already attained a professional level, be undertaking advanced studies.

Application Procedure:

Please submit your completed application form, curriculum vitae, scores and recordings of at least three of your works in electronic format (e. g. mp3, pdf) for a maximum of ten minutes of music. Submissions should be sent to via or a similar file-sharing service.

If you are not yet a member of the ACWC, the application should be accompanied by a fee of $10.00 CDN.

Applications will be adjudicated by an international panel of women composers. The two
successful applicants will be announced by March 1, 2017.

Award winners are required to submit a report explaining how the award has assisted them in their work as a composer. This report will be published in the ACWC Journal and on the New Works Calgary website.

In addition to the cash prize, new works directly resulting from the award will be considered for a première in a New Works Calgary concert or Calgary New Music Festival conditional on instrumentation and programming considerations.

Application Fee ($10.00)
Buy Now Button

Call for Scores: Women Composers Focus on Environment & Celebrate Canada

Call for Scores for ACWC Composers’ Concert:
Women Composers Focus on Environment & Celebrate Canada
Oct. 27, 2017, 7:30pm, Heliconian Club, Toronto

Deadline:  May 30, 2017

flag-canada-heartScores are now being accepted for an all-ACWC concert focusing on climate change and endangered species as we celebrate Canada’s 150 anniversary, Oct 27, 2017, sponsored by ACWC and Heliconian Club.

Scores may include piano solo or duo, flute, Bb or bass clarinet, bassoon, 2 violins, viola, cello, and soprano or alto vocals with texts by Canadian women writers.  Other scorings are possible if a composer pays for extra performers.  Pieces cannot exceed 8 minutes max.

Send all pdf scores to concert coordinator, Kye Marshall <kyemarshall[at]rogers[dot]com>. Send all mp3 audio files via WeTransfer to Kye Marshall as well.  No audio files will be accepted if sent via regular email. Rehearsal time will be limited so send scores that will work well for this concert.  The Toronto Heliconian Club has long been an important concert venue for ACWC composers, and runs a regular concert series.  It is a “non-profit organization,  the oldest association of its kind in Canada, founded in 1909 to give women in the arts and letters opportunities.”